WHEN SCHOOL IS JUST A GRIND

‘Tis the season to celebrate, and no one is celebrating as much as the students at Harrison County, West Virginia high schools. Just last week, in a moment of rigidity, the Superintendent banned all high school dances because students were “grinding.”

Years ago my dentist accused me of “grinding.”  Then he made me a hard plastic mouth guard to prevent damage from grinding. That’s what those students need. Stopping a dance won’t prevent them from grinding. It’s possible students will still be grinding in classrooms, even in the presence of teachers and especially when they’re taking exams! But at least they’ll have protection from permanent dental injury.

I’ve been told that when students are grinding at a dance, they can be found slapping their pelvises repeatedly up against each other. Or one person’s pelvis collides with the back end of another (the “pelvee”) in suggestive ways. And young men experience a rigidity unrelated to school superintendents. These eyebrow-raising actions are purely the consequence of being a stressed-out, frustrated teenager.  Many grind at night in bed. At least a school dance affords the opportunity for students to grind in public, so they can share the experience and know they’re not alone.

The good news for the Harrison County high school students is that the Superintendant lifted the ban after realizing that grinding won’t stop just because students can’t dance. The Superintendant’s action does raise a critical question: In this day and age when the United States places 17th in the developed world for education, behind Estonia and Poland, what is more important to a student’s future—–math, physics, chemistry, or dancing? Yes, after years of educational neglect, dancing has finally been recognized as the key to a student’s socio-anthro-politico-psycho success.

Unfortunately, for decades “dancing” describes people on the dance floor standing separate from each other and bouncing, jumping, jerking, kicking, turning, twisting, kneeling, bending, but most important pretending they know how to dance. At Obama’s inauguration next month, Barack and Michelle, who will attend at least 10 official inaugural balls in one night, are having difficulty once again finding people to invite who—for the sake of international coverage—- can appear to dance together with arms enfolded around each other.

If you do not receive an invitation to the Obama inauguration, it’s because the 2010 census, which you probably refused to take, asked how many households know how to ballroom dance. It also asked if any members of the household have a problem with grinding.

Fortunately I learned to ballroom dance in the 8th grade. Our grade school, Duniway Elementary in Portland, Oregon, was blessed with a principal—M. Dale Schofield—who reputedly had been a dance instructor before developing a mental impairment and going into teaching. Every 8th grader attended his Friday night ballroom dancing class. We met in the school’s gym. Girls wore dresses, boys wore excessive perspiration.  After Mr. Schofield paired everyone up, we formed a large circle and, with Mr. Schofield in the center, we’d attempt to imitate his actions.

The first dance we learned was the Box Step, which is like writing an invisible square on the ground with your feet. I’d never heard anyone bragging about doing the “Box Step,” but Mr. Schofield said it was the basic step to learn other dances.  All of us newly-created partners practiced it repeatedly, our legs often tripping or blocking each other. Across the room a vinyl record player provided musical accompaniment with this song:

“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”
“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”
“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”

Fortunately, there was another verse:

“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”
“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”
“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”

In the weeks ahead I learned the waltz, foxtrot, tango and the swing. Eventually Mr. Schofield demonstrated the Latin American dances—-the samba, cha-cha, and rumba—for which we affably swung our hips while sultry music crooned on the phonograph:

“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”
“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”
“Ricky Ticky Tay Ticky Tay”

To ensure a variety of partners, Mr. Schofield introduced us to people-swapping devices like the Snowball. I was always happy to dance with the taller boys since I towered over a lot of my female classmates.  I didn’t like holding my arms down to partially engulf shorter boys especially since their heads barely cleared my relatively new chest.

When I finally could reasonably dance in the arms of my favorite lofty boys, I began to notice a peculiar rock-hard sensation against my thigh. I’d subtly glance down at our legs to see if my partner’s denims were particularly lumpy with rivets. Finding no explanation, I’d try to ignore this stony protrusion.  I’d never noticed that several of the boys’ denims had the same bulging design.

In retrospect, I believe my unfortunate teenage dance partners at the time, coping with acne, sweaty palms and b.o., were grinding. Even those who wore bite plates and headgear were gnashing their teeth and holding me, well, stiffly. If Mr. Schofield was aware of this phenomenon, he didn’t let on. And being the wise man he was, he sure didn’t cancel any dances.

8 responses to “WHEN SCHOOL IS JUST A GRIND

  1. LOL…You always make me laugh Trudi…. I love the “grinding”… the visuals are hysterical…. Thanks for the laughter! 😀

    • If you’ve never seen students grinding at dances, you can YouTube them. It’ll sure take your mind of health issues. However, be sure to have a defibrillator close by.
      XXXX Trudi

  2. Well, it most certainly wasn’t a grind to read your very funny blog! As always, you manage to bring me back to memories of times past. My parents sent my brother and me, who were genetically challenged when it came to dancing, for lessons with an instructor who reeked of cigar smoke. We learned dances that had no relevance to the times including the box step but also the waltz and the polka!

  3. If our parents had known the kind of “dancing” we’ve observed and/or participated in most of our lives, they’d probably could’ve saved money on dance lessons. We could have done just as well if they’d routinely dropped ice cubes down our back from time to time. The guaranteed frenzied reaction has a lot of rhythm to it and looks convincingly like today’s “dancing.”

    XXXX T

  4. Hal Schofield

    Mr. Schofield was my father. I used to play the records for these dance classes. Hal Schofield hschofield@msn.com

  5. Hi Hal,
    So glad you discovered my column that mentions your dad. He was very special to me and my family. Of all the principals I had at Duniway (there were several), he was our favorite. Always helpful and kind, despite a somber appearance with his dark-rimmed glasses. And so talented! I wish I’d known about his remarkable background that I read in his obituary, including his participation in the 1938 Berlin Olympics!
    I guess you survived the constant Ricky-Ticky-Tay-Ticky-Tay of the recordings for the 7th and 8th graders’ dance classes he taught. (Or hope you didn’t have PTSD from that.)
    Thanks so much for notifying me about you and your dad.

  6. Whoops! Sorry, Hal. I meant the 1936 Berlin Olympics that your dad was in for the U.S. Did he ever talk about seeing Hitler? Or the environment in Germany when he was there?

  7. As Mr. Schofield’s son I am always touched to read this. He was the man you describe. I played the record player and was at all his classes. They do not make principals like Mr. Schofield anymore, not with his grace. Did you know he ran in the 1936 Olympics with Jesse Owens? He and my mother were simply beautiful to watch. Hal Schofield
    Yes he saw Hitler, but thought the civilian population very friendly. Went on to Czech to win the 100 and 200 meters in 2 meets.

LEAVE A REPLY